RIDER BIOGRAPHIES GreenMedInfo.com Click here to view
  Alberto Contador    

Picture courtesy of www.grahamwatson.com
Alberto Contador was born on December 6, 1982.

The Spanish rider won multiple Grand Tour events including two victories in the Tour de France.

Contador won the 2007 Tour de France in front Cadel Evans of Australia and Levi Leipheimer of the USA.

Contador also won the 2009 Tour de France in front of Andy Schleck of Luxembourg and Lance Armstrong of the USA.

Contador won the 2008 Giro d'Italia in front of Riccardo Ricco of Italy and Marzio Bruseghin of Italy.

Contador also won the 2015 Giro d'Italia in front of Fabio Aru of Italy and Mikel Landa of Spain.

In addition, Contador won the 2008 Vuelta a Espana over Levi Leipheimer of the USA and Carlos Sastre of Spain.

Contador is only the third rider to win the Giro d’Italia – Vuelta a Espana double in a single year. He joins Eddy Merckx of Belgium in 1973 and Giovanni Battaglin of Italy in 1981 as the only riders to accomplish this feat.

Contador is one of six riders to win all three Grand Tours and joins a prestigious group of riders who have do so. They are Jacques Anquetil of France, Felice Gimondi of Italy, Eddy Merckx of Belgium, Bernard Hinault of France, and Vincenzo Nibali of Italy. Both Contador and Hinault won at least two editions of each of the Grand Tours.

Contador also won the 2012 Vuelta a Espana in front of Alejandro Valverde of Spain and Joaquin Rodriguez of Spain.

In addition, he won the 2014 Vuelta a Espana in front of Christopher Froome of Great Britain and Alejandro Valverde of Spain.

Picture courtesy of www.cyclingweekly.co.uk

Return | Home
Copyright ?2002-2019 Cycling Hall of Fame.com